Just Booky Things

Going to Heaven & What I Got There

It’s beautiful, and you know it is. The shining bright lights, the glow of the atmosphere. The feeling you get when you first come in… pure and raw happiness. Your mouth is agape and you are awed by the beauty around you. How can anything be so beautiful? You ask yourself, astonished.

It’s the library.

If you were expecting something else, sorry to disappoint you. BUT HONESTLY WHO COULD BE DISAPPOINTED BY LIBRARIES?? They’re beautiful and full of beautiful ideas and stories and people.

Well, maybe not people, because I’m basically a socially awkward chubby caterpillar that hides in the shades of leaves. I find other humans frightening, not beautiful.

BUT THAT”S NOT WHY I AM HERE!! I’m going to tell y’all what I got from heaven, aka the library!1!!!!111!


BOOKS I PICKED UP

 

#1 )    Daughter of the Pirate King

By Tricia Levenseller

daughterofthepirateking

I mean–honestly–DO I EVEN NEED TO EXPLAIN??!!? I got all I needed to know by just looking at the cover:

  1. Bad-ass main character
  2. Female Main Character
  3. The BEAUTY of the cover *heart eyes*
  4. Pirates!! ARggghhhh
  5. DAUGHTER OF A KING?!?! Boi that’s so cool!

I think that is a sufficient enough argument for why I got this book….Now let’s continue smol children >:)

#2) The Breaking Light

By Heather Hansen

30415284.jpg

Kay, so let’s start off by addressing the issue that all YA Novels have super bootyful covers–and now I can no longer judge a book by its cover. I know I’m such a sinful child but I like pwetty covers. Anyways, beautiful cover obviously, but the summary caused me to choke on my own breath from how beautifully written it was and how original the idea is. It’s JUST SUPER COOL. It kind of reminds me of Romeo and Juliet, but I really just hope it doesn’t have the same ending. (If you didn’t know, Romeo and Juliet both die at the end. Sorry not sorry). That is all I would like to say.

“NEXT!” A roaring voice booms from above.

“Okay, jeez, I’ll get writing,” Replies the blogger.

#3) You Don’t Know My Name

By Kristen Orlando

25876993

Two words.

GIRL SPY!

#4) Drawn Away

By Holly Bennett

31224397

Eh, does anyone see the last name Bennett and think “Bonnie Bennett”? No? Okay… *goes to the corner and cries fitfully* #thevampirediaries

I was drawn to this book hehe get it.. “drawn to this book” when the title is “drawn away” hehe because of the summary obviously… I mean not to be rude but the cover isn’t as appealing to me as others, however the summary did the trick. Honestly I didn’t really understand the summary all that well but it seemed interesting. I’m weird. Ok.

#5) The Wrath & The Dawn

By Renee Ahdieh

51T+RuCYypL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

I read the first part of the summary and immediately I was like YES!! Let me show you why…

“Khalid, the eighteen-year-old son of a Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new wife, only to have her killed by sunrise.”

COOL RIGHT? Morbid, sure, but COOL! Anyways the main character is a brave and fierce and a GIRL WOOP WOOP. (Not that I have anything against male characters, but strong women of color are so underrated and this changes that)

Anyways at first I wasn’t sure about getting it because I felt like as if it showed Arabs in a bad perspective ( I mean, his name is Khalid), but after reading a bit more I realized that was totally not the author’s intent. I hope not. I’m already in love honestly.

#6) The Rose & The Dagger

By Renee Ahdieh

51cbuxs9okL._AC_UL320_SR214,320_

sorry for the bad quality of this picture, it was the only one I could find

Honestly, lemme tell y’all the truth. I didn’t even read the summary or inspect it at all. I just snatched it because it was the sequel of the previous book. Hehe.

#7) Dial Em for Murder

By Marni Bates

29526343.jpg

It’s about a girl who was writing a novel in a coffee shop when a strange man literally died on top of her. Must I further explain why I grabbed this off the shelf?!?! Exactly.


Hope you all have enjoyed this little adventure, because I’m definitely going to start reading them ASAP. Don’t you worry though, I’ll be updating you all with Book Reviews and such… hopefully.

If procrastination doesn’t get the better of me…*chuckles and scratches head awkwardly*

Leave a comment