Young Adult

My First Blog Post

Obsidian.jpg

 

Genre: Science Fiction

               I would like to dedicate my first blog post to the book that inspired me to actually create a blog. This book is the one and only, Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. This book has twists and turns just like any other, but the main character appealed to me because we were just so alike. Besides the fact that she had an alien as a neighbor, most of our qualities were similar. We are both bookworms, and now, we are both book bloggers! So yes, I was inspired by a fictional character but who cares as long as the final product is good right?

Now on to the actual book. Even though this book has inspired me to start my own blog, I’m going to be honest. It’s not my favorite. But it’s okay!! There were just waaaay too many cringey moments that made me bite my tongue in distaste and reminded me of really bad online fanfiction… not pleasant. It has a basic plot–> girl moves into town–> neighbor is a attractive (but insanely rude and cocky)–> he’s more then what he seems –> struggle–> she falls in love with him despite him being a jerk just because they has some “nice” moments. Basically this dude is her new neighbor; a cute alien dude that makes her blush every time she sees him and basically the whole story revolves around that.

Now, I know I may seem harsh, but I’m throwing down the cold hard truth, not some sugarcoated lie that makes the author feel better.

I loved the bond between the main character and her perky best friend, Dee. Their relationship really was special and Dee’s kindness made everything so much better. Also, I loved how Daemon (main male character) was such a charming prince at times. Coming to her rescue waay more than once. And Dee repaying back the favor by saving him. The characters were very well-written and descriptive, unlike the awkward dialogue that occurred throughout the book. My favorite part, obviously, was her book-blogging experiences. It really interested me, to the point that I now have my own book blog. ❤

With all the pros and cons weighed in, my final decision is giving this book 2 out of 5 stars.

★★☆☆☆

Thank you Jennifer Armentrout for inspiring me to create a book blog!

 

1 thought on “My First Blog Post”

Leave a Reply

